The Land of Ours —— CCCD Touch Art Space

Date: 2020-10-10 - 2020-12-23

Date: 10/10/2020 - 23/12/2020

Opening Hours: From Tuesday to Sunday 12noon - 7:00 p.m. (Closed on Monday and Public Holiday)

Venue: CCCD Touch Art Space, L205, Jockey Club Creative Arts Centre, 30 Pak Tin Street, Shek Kip Mei

Curatorial Statement

This is the second exhibition launched in CCCD Touch Art Space. Last time we have created a dark space without any lightening, which tries to diminish the visual hegemonism and focus on the sensation of touch. This time, we would like to focus on another discussion of touch art: Materials.  

Little Star has led a creative workshop by using gaffer in the core member meeting. Visually impaired participants also agreed that gaffer is a suitable material for creation. Gaffer not only could replace paint to layout a smooth surface, but the hard texture aspect of gaffer could also create three dimensional or relief products directly. The special feature of gaffer is its own clothing texture, which could be easily and neatly torn by hand. Gaffer could be torn into different lengths and thickness without scissors, and it equipped the qualities of waterproof, heat resistance, high viscosity, and no trace after tearing. Gaffer is usually used on stage and film production, photography, etc, which to fix the electronic wire and related equipment. Gaffer is seen as tools mostly, which seldom appear as a subject of the artwork. 

Transforming gaffer from tools to artwork materials, we create works representing ourselves. Together with all these individual “me’s”, we compose a land belong to “us”.  

 

Curator's information

Little Star is a visually impaired artist. He is interested in every kind of art forms, including creative writing, touch art, storytelling, theatre and music etc. He participated in past performance and exhibitions such as The 10th Macau City Fringe Festival (2010), Listen not Listen sharing cum exhibition, Arts with the Disabled Association Hong Kong (2015-2016), his paper artwork: "My Flying Heart" won Merit Prize (Youth Division) at Cross All Borders: Hong Kong Festival Showcasing New Visual Artists with Disabilities 2012.

We welcome group guided tour by appointment.

 

Enquiries

Tel:2891 8482

Fax:2891 8483

Emailcccd@cccd.hk

Expanding the Horizons of Touch Art is financially supported by the Arts Development Fund for Persons with Disabilities of the Government of Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

The content of this/these programme(s)/activity(ies) does not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region

The Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region provides funding support to the Expanding the Horizons of Touch Art only, but does not otherwise take part in it.  Any opinions, findings, conclusions or recommendations expressed in the materials/activities are those of the organisers of Expanding the Horizons of Touch Art only and do not reflect the views of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region.

觸感藝術新領域—— 第二次觸感藝術空間展覽 - 「我地」

日期: 2020-10-10 - 2020-12-23

日期:2020年10月10日至2020年12月23日

時間:星期二至日 中午12時至下午7時 (星期一及公眾假期休息)

地點:石硤尾白田街30號賽馬會創意藝術中心L205社區文化發展中心—觸感藝術空間

策展概念

這是第二個在CCCD觸感藝術空間的展覽,上一次我們製作了一個黑暗的空間,希望盡量減低視覺的霸權,集中感受觸摸的感覺。這次我們嘗試以明亮的展廳,探討另一個觸感藝術的議題:物料。

在計劃工作坊的聚會中,小星帶領了一場以棉布膠帶(俗稱:膠化)創作的工作坊。視障參加者都認為布膠帶很適合和方便他們進行創作,布膠帶不但能代替顏料密鋪出光滑的平面,也能利用它的硬度直接製作立體或雕塑作品。布膠帶的最大的特性是其布織的表面,用手也能輕易整齊撕開,可以在不用剪刀的情況下撕出不同的長度和粗幼度,並且擁有防水、抗熱、高黏性、撕去後不留痕的特性。這種膠帶常用於舞台製作、電影和攝影業等,用作穩固場地上的各種電線、物品等。布膠帶一般被視作工具,以往甚少出現在藝術品上。

這次展覽我們特別把原為工具的物料變成觸感藝術品,邀請藝術家們各自利用布膠帶,把「我」貼出來。而這些不同的「我」將在這裏組成一幅屬於「我」們的「地」。
 

策展人簡介

小星是一位視障人士。小星對各種藝術均有濃厚興趣,包括文字創作、觸感藝術、說故事、劇場及音樂等。小星過往參與過的演出及展覽包括:第十屆澳門城市藝穗節(2010);「聽到聽不到:分享會及作品展覽」「香港展能藝術會」(2015-2016);其紙藝作品「初戀之心」奪「藝無疆:新晉展能藝術家大匯展2012」(青年組優異獎)。

歡迎團體預約觸感導賞團 

查詢Enquiries

電話Tel:2891 8482

傳真Fax:2891 8483

電郵emailcccd@cccd.hk

 

觸感藝術新領域獲香港特別行政區政府「殘疾人士藝術發展基金」的資助。

節目/活動內容並不反映香港特別行政區政府的意見

香港特別行政區政府僅為觸感藝術新領域提供撥款資助,並無參與其中。在刊物/活動內表達的任何意見、研究成果、結論或建議,純屬觸感藝術新領域的推行機構的觀點,並不代表香港特別行政區政府的觀點。